Virat Kohli named ICC ODI Player of the Year 2012

Indian batting sensation Virat Kohli was named ODI Cricketer of the Year 2012 at the International Cricket Council Awards in Dubai on Saturday.

Kohli won the award for his consistent performance over the last 12 months during which he amassed runs all over the world and against almost all the countries India played.

During the performance period, he played 31 ODIs and compiled 1,733 runs at an average of 66.65, including eight centuries and six half-centuries.

His highest score was 183, against Pakistan in the Asia Cup.

Kohli said upon receiving the honour: “I think I have tried to keep things as simple as possible and it’s worked for me on the field. This year has been a learning curve along the way from the seniors in the team. It’s been an all-round effort and I’m very happy to have won this award."

"It's always nice to be recognised by the ICC and it's a great feeling and it's the first time I've won one of these awards and it feels great," he added.

List of winners:
Cricketer of the Year: Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka)
Test Cricketer of the Year: Kumar Sangakkara
ODI Cricketer of the Year: Virat Kohli (India)
Emerging Cricketer of the Year: Sunil Narine (West Indies)
Spirit of Cricket Award: Daniel Vettori (New Zealand)
T20 International Performance of the Year: Richard Levi (South Africa)
Umpire of the Year: Kumar Dharmasena (Sri Lanka)
People’s Choice Award: Kumar Sangakkara
Women’s ODI Cricketer of the Year: Stafanie Taylor (West Indies)
Women’s T20 Cricketer of the Year: Sarah Taylor (England)
Associate and Affiliate Cricketer of the Year: George Dockrell (Ireland).

No comments: